Overwatch League Is Set To Start In January 2018, Final Three Spots Announced

It’s finally ready. Blizzard’s ambitious push for Overwatch esports, the Overwatch League, is now set to start in January 10 and will play until June, with a pre-season set of exhibition matches to be held starting December 6. The inaugural season will see 12 teams representing cities from North America, Europe and Asia duke it out at the new Blizzard Arena in Burbank, California, USA.

The last three teams to be announced joining the first season are :

  • Comcast Spectator (Philadelphia)- the esports arm of the US telco company which also owns NHL team Philadelphia Flyers.
  • Team Envy (Dallas)- also known as EnVyUs, one of the strongest lineups in the early days of Overwatch esports, and one of the most stable.
  • OpTic Gaming (Houston)- a big name in Call Of Duty and Counter-Strike, but will be a new name in the Overwatch scene.

To recap, the 12 teams are made of 1 city from Europe, 2 from Asia with the rest from North America (with two teams sharing one location). They are:

  1. London (Cloud9)
  2. Shanghai (NetEase)
  3. Seoul (Kabam)
  4. Miami-Orlando (Misfits)
  5. Los Angeles (Immortals)
  6. Los Angeles (KSE Esports)
  7. San Francisco (NRG Esports)
  8. Boston (Kraft Group)
  9. New York (Sterling Equities)
  10. Philadelphia (Comcast Spectator)
  11. Dallas (Envy)
  12. Houston (OpTic Gaming)

As promised, a mix of endemic esports organisations and non-endemic organisations are joining the league, which reported to have cost $20 million USD to buy in.

Like how sports in the US are structured, the Overwatch League teams will have all-new branding, name and logo that ties to the home location, which will be announced soon.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept