The Final Fantasy Series Is Coming To Xbox Game Pass Next Year

"Which Final Fantasy should I play?" "Yes"

At the X019 event happening in London right now, Square Enix has revealed that all of the modern, non-MMO Final Fantasy games from VII to XV, including their direct sequels, will be coming to Xbox Game Pass. Both for console and PC.

That means over 9 huge JRPGs will be added to the library of Xbox Game Pass sometime next year. The full list is as follows:

  • Final Fantasy VII
  • Final Fantasy VIII Remastered
  • Final Fantasy IX
  • Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster
  • Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age
  • Final Fantasy XIII
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2
  • Lighting Returns Final Fantasy XIII
  • Final Fantasy XV

If you want to catch up with the backlog of past Final Fantasy games, all great in their own way, Xbox Game Pass looks like the cheapest way to do so when these games arrive sometime in 2020. Though they will be added sequentially over time.

Square Enix is also adding the previous Kingdom Hearts games, namely Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5+2.5 Remix and Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue next year. Kingdom Hearts III has already launched on Xbox One earlier this year but now has a free demo.

Xbox is bolstering its support for Japanese games it seems, as it also announced the Yakuza series coming to Xbox and Xbox Game Pass as well at the same event.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept